NBF Film - Count the mistakes in the scene

Here is what NBF wrote as mistakes, and an explanation of how it should have been done:

Before they begin:

1) North-South arrive late to the round, do not greet the opponents, discuss the last board instead. – Always greet your opponents, and do not discuss previous boards after beginning a new board.

During the bidding:
2) North forgets to advertise the opening bid, but alerts. – 1 club, 1 diamond, 1NT and all bids on the 2nd level shall always be advertised, so you should always say what the bid means, without anyone having to ask (Norwegian law)(Not ACBL regulation)

3) Bids without waiting for the stop card to be removed. – You should always wait about 10 seconds before you bid after a jump bid, even if you do not have anything to think about.

4) West asks what 2 diamonds mean after it is his turn to bid. – He should have asked before he bid.

5) North reply “completely standard Multi” – You should always explain what the bid means, not just say the name of the convention. Some people do not know what Multi or other conventions mean, and they might not dare to ask. Additionally, there are several versions of conventions, so not everyone agree on what standard is.

6) No alert of 2 spades. – Most artificial bids below the 4-level should be alerted.

7) Kibitzer arrive at the table, do not ask if she may watch. – Should have asked if it was okay to watch, some people do not appreciate having kibitzers, and they are allowed to refuse kibitzers.

8) The kibitzer watches two hands. – You are only allowed to watch one hand.

9) The kibitzer communicates with north through body language and expressions, also does not have a poker face. – You should never interrupt or influence the game in any way as a kibitzer.

10) East counts her points by pointing at her cards. You should not point at you cards when counting your points, since this could give unauthorised information to partner.

11) East looks confused, thinks, and fumbles in the bidding box, and passes. You should always avoid touching the bidding box until you have decided what you want to bid.

12) West starts to think but are told by south that he must pass since his partner thought. – It is not allowed to use the information from partners thinking, and one may not choose a call demonstrably suggested by partner's break in tempo. 

13) The bids are put back into the bidding box before the lead. – The bids should lay still until after the lead, so the leaders partner have the opportunity to ask what the bids mean. (Not ACBL Regulation)

During the play
14) West does not lead covered. – The card should have been led the other way, and can be turned over when partner says okay, or when dummy puts down their cards.

15) Whilst putting down his cards, north tells his partner that the 2 spades bid should have been alerted. If dummy or declarer have given a wrong or lack of explanation, it should be explained before the lead.

16) South says that it is standard Multi, 2 diamonds – 2spades is pass or correct, that’s normal Multi. Artificial bids below the 4-level should always be alerted, even if it is “standard”.

17) Declarer immediately plays a card from dummy in trick one. – Declarer should wait about 10 seconds before he plays a card from dummy.

18) East plays the king of diamonds, outside of her turn.

19) Dummy laughs when east plays a card outside of her turn. Everyone can make mistakes, and it is not acceptable to laugh at it.

20) Declarer says that the king of diamonds is a penalty card, and that west must play a diamond when it is his turn. You should always call the director when something wrong happens, and not settle it yourself. Here declarer has several options, and what happens might depend on what option declarer chooses. 

21) East suggests that they call the director, but north-south say that they know the laws, so they do not want to bother the TD. You should always call the director if something wrong happens, even if you know the laws.

22) Declarer plays the queen of hearts from dummy. East, with only two small hearts, wonders what she should play. It is important to play in tempo with only small cards in a suit, because this could trick the opponents into thinking you have an honour, which is not allowed.

23) West moves some of his cards after he won the trick with the king of hearts, so the two black suits are not next to each other. He moves one card at a time. You should avoid moving cards when you are out of a sort, this is because you can give unauthorised information to partner.

24) Declarer looks at the last trick. It is allowed to look at your own last card before you play a new one.

25) East asks if she can see the last trick again, after she had turned her card over. You are not allowed to see anyone else’s card after you have turned your own over.

26) West turn his card around for partner to see before declarer have time to say that it is too late. Some players accept that the opponents look at the last trick, but you must wait until they say that it is okay.

27) The kibitzer ask dummy how his kids are. The kibitzer should never interrupt or influence the game in any way.

28) Declarer says that it does not matter what west does, they get two tricks. West then plays a spade which gives the declarer an extra trick. Declarer is happy and claim all tricks except one. If you tell the opponents that it does not matter what they play, then you are not allowed to get an extra trick if they play something wrong. The correct thing to do then is to call the director, and they will adjust the board.

29) Declarer claims without showing his cards. You should always show your cards to the opponents when you claim, so they can check if it is correct.

30) The cards are put together before they agree on the number of tricks. You should always check if you agree on the number of tricks before you put the cards back, because you can still turn the cards over to see where you disagree.

31) East asks how many tricks there were, and south answers 8 tricks. East is not certain that is correct, but north, clearly annoyed, answers that they are sure.You should always look through the board if anyone is unsure of have many tricks there were. If you still do not agree after looking at the board, then you should call the director.

32) The board is done, and north-south hurry up, and complain that they will get a penalty if they do not finish on time. - You are allowed to tell the opponents that you/they must hurry up, but it is important to say it in a nice way.

33) North register the result on the BridgeMate without showing it to east-west. You should always show the results to the opponents, so they can check if it is correct. If both pairs agree, you may do it after the round is done, but they should always check.

34) The director complains that the table is playing slow, and south blames east-west, although north-south were late because they were discussing the last board. It is important that you are honest about who’s fault it is that you are late.

There are 33 mistakes in total. Number 24 is not a mistake.

Of course, like any measurement, the answer you get is in part due to how you count or measure the errores.  Here is an alternative analysis based on the number of laws or procedures violated.

 There are 51 mistakes made in these 5 minutes or so!.
Here is a list with the relevant time stamps from the video

0:23 “You played the last board completely idiotic” Breach of 74A1 (courteous attitude at all time) and 74A2 (might cause annoyance) (2)
0:23 “You have Ace, King and jack and the we have 8” Breach of 90B3 “Discussing play of a board that might be overheard” (3)
Director is presumably aware of this and doesn’t act Law 80C3 (4)
0:30 “yes of course” Failure to greet opponents – repeat of 74A1 and 74A2 (6) (For simplicity sake we’ll have all discussions lumped together)
0:36 or thereabouts: failure to call TD when in receipt of extraneous information; Law 16D1 (7)
0:45 Boye removes board from centre of table 7A (8)
0:48 Boye fails to count cards 7B2 (9)
No system cards displayed (Law 40) (10)
0:55 failure to use alert card in bidding box (11): failure to ensure both opponents are aware that the call is alertable (12) – technically this may not be an irregularity – I assume the RA have such rules in their bidding box regulations.
0:58 Failure to obey stop card regulations (pausing 10 seconds) (13) (stop card replaced at 1:05)
0:58 Asking when not turn to call (call has been made) Law 20F1 (14)
1:01 Inaccurate explanation of call Law 20F1 (15)
1:06 Failure to alert conventional 2 Spade bid. (16)
1:12 Kibitzer arrives and noisily draws up chair disturbing Boye (76B4) (17)
1: 15 Kibitzer places herself where she could see two hands (76B1) (18)
1:19 Showing indecision with bidding box: probably a breach of BB regulations (19) – conveys UI but this is not per se an irregularity.
1:30 Kibitzer reacts to display of hand 76B3 (20)
1.34 Player makes up own rules (“You must pass now”) (10A) (21)
1:49 removal of bidding sequence before end of clarification period, (22)
1.57 Not sure at this – does Boye look to see where the opening lead is played (74C5) (23)
1.57 Opening lead is made face up (Law 41A) – The regulating authority might require the opening lead to be made face up so not 100% an irregularity (24)
1.58 Failure to call director about misexplanation at correct time (20Fb(2)) (25)
1.58 Player who draws attention to irregularity is dummy (opening lead has been faced) (43a1(b)) (26)
1.58 opening lead – does UI form partner suggest spade values? Is there a LA? If so 16B and 73C (call this 27 as it is one action)
2:01 – looks like dummy has not put trumps on right (41D) (28) - or Boye calls for card before dummy fully displayed
2:22 Lead out of turn by defender (Law 44G) (29) Dummy draw attention to it by sniggering (43a1(b) again) (30)
2:32 director not called (31). Incorrect rectification (declarer can accept the lead) (32)
2:33 incorrect explanation of rules of penalty card (33): declarer can require/ forbid a diamond or allow player to make normal lead etc. Failure to call the director. (34)
2.41 Dummy (“so we should use extra time on that?”) participating in play (43a1(c)) (35)
2.56 Hesitating when no demonstrable bridge reason to do so (5 2 of Hearts) (36) (73E2)
3:10 player requests cards to be shown after own card has been turned over. (37) (66A)
3:24 Boye again gives incorrect ruling on penalty card. (He can insist on a diamond lead of course, but he has options) (38) (49D2a)) King of diamonds should be returned to hand (39).
3.30 Kibitzer has conversation with player (76.b.3) (40)
3.49 Boye makes claim – no explanation, no display of hand 68C (41)
3.49 Play not suspended (42) 68D
3.49 play continues without defending side requesting it to do so (68D1.b) (43)
3.59 another claim -cards not displayed (68C) (44)
4.01 cards are disturbed before tricks are agreed, by Boye and Dummy (45,46)
4.17 Bridgemate score entered and not verified (47)
4.29 Director fails to obtain facts regarding time used up from both sides. Law 85A (48)
End - the director was not called politely at the end (74B5) (49)
Boye exclaiming "what" when the finesse fails is a breach of 74C2 and 74B2 (50)
(And I suspect that Boye has a losing club (hard to tell) 79A2, not to mention there is still a trump out I believe.) (51)
Thanks to John Portwood on Bridge winners for doing the hard work compiling the first version of this list.