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Bob Jones 1NT Old-time players will bid 1♥, which is not wrong. Modern players, 

assuming partner would have responded in a major if he had one, will rebid 1NT 

 

Steve Vogel 1NT My partners and I play that a 1♦ response to 1♣ means they have less 

than an opening hand and no four card major, or an opening hand with longer diamonds than a 
major, which they plan to rebid over a 1NT rebid by opener. In short, there is no reason for me 
to rebid a 4-card major with a balanced hand. 
 

Joe Muenks 1NT This obviously depends on your agreements. If you're playing standard 

bid 1♥ since 1NT denies a 4-card major. If you're playing Kokish, bid 1NT and partner with a 
good hand, 5+ diamonds and a 4-card major will bid it over 1NT. In neither system is the 8-card 
major missed. 
 

Bob Fisk 1NT I'm a Walshist, so my partner's 1♦ response to my 1♣ opener denies a 

4-card major.....unless it doesn't. If partner does have a 4-card major, they'll rebid it at the two 
level, and I'll know they have a full opener, a 4-card major, and longer diamonds. Bridge is easy! 

 

Steve Moese 1NT We have a balanced hand, maximum for this rebid. Modern experts 

only rebid 1M after a 1♦ response when the hand is unbalanced (usually 4M & 5+m). Since we 
bypass 4+ diamond cards to bid a 4-card Major, partner either doesn’t have one and is weak to 
invitational, or they do, and can force to game. So the 1NT rebid is “free”. If responder does 
rebid a Major after our 1NT, that’s forcing to game.  

NB: if the auction is 1m - 1♥ by us, you need to agree with partner whether to rebid 1♠ with 
any 4 or 1NT with a balanced hand holding 4 spades. If you agree 1NT, then you might want to 
discuss how further bidding might reveal the “hidden” spade suit. 
 

Mike Ma 1NT No matter how you play 1♦, but especially if you play Walsh style, 1NT 

looks best. Even if you play a straight up the line approach, I would still bid 1NT. 
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Bob Jones 2NT Bidding 3♣ without a fifth diamond is dangerous. So is a reverse bid of 

2♥, for the same reason. We prefer 2NT. 
 

Steve Vogel 2♥ I will not rebid 2NT with shortness in partner’s suit and a 4-4-4-1 hand, 

with the exception of a singleton Ace or King. I much prefer a 2♥ rebid to 3♣, which would 
make it more difficult to find a possible heart fit. 
 

Joe Muenks 3♣ A reverse guarantees that the first suit is longer than the 2nd, so 2♥ is 

out lest you find yourself in 6♦ or 7♦ on a 4-3 fit, ack. I very rarely bid NT with a singleton on 

the 2nd round, so while 2NT is ok on values, partner will usually bid 4♠ and play in their 6-1 fit, 

ack. Like Goldilocks, 3♣ is just right; after all the auction is still young. 
 

Bob Fisk 2NT While you NEVER rebid 1NT with a singleton, the same thing isn't true 

about rebidding 2NT. Here, you can't reverse into 2♦ or 2♥, because that would show longer 

clubs (i.e., a number greater than four). That's not what you have. If partner pushes on to 4♠ 
thinking you have two or more spades, your hand won't be a disappointment (picture KQJxxx xx 
Qx xxx). 
 

Steve Moese 2♥ This gets our strength across with a focus on the major suit we hold 

while distorting the picture of our hand little (we imply one more diamond than we hold). 2NT 

and 3♣ are live possibilities. However these take up even more bidding space and make 

partner’s rebid difficult with 5+ spades and a weak hand. Over 2♥ they can rebid a non-forcing 

2♠ and we can subside in NT. They also have Lebensohl or rubensohl to show weak hands. If 

the auction goes 1♦-1♠-2♥-2♠-3♣ we have described our hand exactly in strength and shape at 

the lowest level possible (note a strong J/S to 3♣ at our second turn hides hearts - so does a 
Jump to 2NT. Not a good idea). When faced with an awkward rebid it is often best to select the 

bid that is most flexible and the least distortion. Both 2NT and 3♣ distort the hand shape by 

one card, but raise the auction past 2♠ - losing flexibility. 
 

Mike Ma 2♥ Not sure why the opening bid was 1♦ and not 1♣ since you were 

planning on reversing over 1♠. Rebidding 2NT with singleton S is bad. The problem is partner 

will take you for 5+ D 100% with your 1♦ opening and then 2♥. You may be languishing in 3♦ on 

a 4-3 fit when 6♣is cold. 
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Bob Jones 3♣ Open 3♣. In the modern game, neither the 4 little spades nor the lack 

of a seventh club should bother you. 
 

Steve Vogel Pass Even at favorable vulnerability, I would not consider opening this hand 

3♣ (even without 4 spades). My club suit has too many holes, and partner would not expect me 
to have an Ace. 
 

Joe Muenks Pass This is a close one. 3♣ is destructive to someone and that is highly likely 

the opponents not partner. However with 4 spades, only 6 kinda weak clubs, and values I'm 

willing to bid as responder (meaning if partner opens 1♦ with 18-19, I'll bid 1♠), I'll pass and 
hope we're not shut out. 
 

Bob Fisk Pass Why is this question in here? Were we supposed to be so embarrassed 

by the quality of our 4-card spade suit that we'd open 3♣ to make sure we don't end up in 4♠? 

That must have been it. If you do open this 3♣, I pray that your partner holds AKxx xxx Axxx Kx, 

and you're cold for 4♠ on normal breaks. Heh. 
 

Steve Moese 3♣ At favorable vulnerability we put as much pressure on opponents as 

possible. 3♣ follows the Rule of 2-3-4. Larry Cohen presented conclusions from a double 
dummy analysis of one million hands from top level bridge (yes, a computer did the work) and 

found that the most effective opening bid was 3♣. Don’t hesitate. 
 

Mike Ma Pass The vulnerability calls for super aggressive preempt. But within that, 

you still need to have some standard. The way I do is think of number of defects from an ideal 
preempt for that vul, and for first seat, 2 defects I think thrice, more than 2, I usually give up. 
Using Rule of 2-3-4 (number of going down tricks for favorable, equal, and unfavorable vul)), in 
this vul, you can go down 4. If you are optimistic, You count 4 C tricks with that suit, and 
nothing else. That is down 5, a serious defect as 2-3-4 is already aggressive. You have only 6 C, 
another defect (ideal is 7 for 3 level preempt). You have 4 S, albeit xxxx. That is not crucial, but 
still a minor defect. Your compensating feature is a singleton, but even that would have been 
better if it was a M and not D. Pass it is, although you may hate yourself for it.  
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Bob Jones 2♥ A case can be made for passing with such a weak heart suit, but we 

prefer to show our sixth heart while we have a chance, Bid 2♥. 
 

Steve Vogel 2♥ Given my shortness in the opponent’s suit, I am inclined to rebid 2♥ 

even with this ratty suit, due to my overall strength. I don’t like the option of a support double 
with only 2 spades (even these good 2 spades). 
 

Joe Muenks 2♥ I like making noise here, particularly since partner likely has 3 or so 

diamonds so will downgrade the hand and struggle to compete with 8-9 pts. Support doubles 
are convenient, so partner knows I have fewer than 3 spades so very likely 4+ clubs. 
 

Bob Fisk 2♥ I can't make a support double, and the hand isn't quite strong enough 

to rebid 3♥ (tempting). A free bid of 2♥ (i.e., I could have passed) shows this hand. 
 

Steve Moese Pass We play support doubles and this hand is a minimum hand. We need 5 

clubs and a King more to rebid 3 clubs here. Our 6-card heart suit looks more like 5 cards. Don’t 
give partner high expectations about hearts. If partner can compete, they will have 3 hearts if 
they raise (with four they raise first), or 5+ spades if they rebid spades (they know we have 0-2 
spades because we didn’t double), and 4+ clubs if they rebid clubs. All’s well. 
 

Mike Ma Pass I am not rebidding that H suit freely, and I can't bid 3♣ with a minimum 

hand. X is support, not TO. It is true partner may have trouble reopening, e.g. 5=1=3=4, but W 

would probably not pass 2♦ with D support and some values. 
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Bob Jones X Charles Goren played a double here as penalties. Modern players use it 

for takeout, so double is our choice. A spade contract might be best for your side even with you 
only having three. 
 

Steve Vogel 3NT In IMPs, I would bid 3NT (which, because we play Lebensohl, describes a 

game forcing hand with no heart stopper and also no 4+ spades). In match points, it’s a much 
closer decision. I could make a card showing double, but that typically promises at least 2 
hearts. I think I would also take a chance on 3NT in matchpoints too. 
 

Joe Muenks 3NT First, I play Lebensohl and so should you if you don't. I'm infamous for 

teaching the very newest players 3 conventions...transfers, negative doubles and Lebensohl. It 
is pretty complex, sure, but one of the most important conventions in modern duplicate. So, 
here, 3NT shows (1) 10 pts [we're hoping 5 decent diamonds is worth 1], (2) denies a heart 
stopper, (3) denies 4 spades. Partner can run to his best minor without a heart stopper himself. 
 

Bob Fisk 3NT Playing Lebensohl, this shows the values to play in 3NT without a heart 

stopper. My 5-card diamond suit and two Tens make this a game-going hand. Add to that the 
fact that we gain a trick when the opponent's bid, since it's easier to place cards as declarer. 
 

Steve Moese Pass As far as we know the heart ♥Q is not pulling its weight. We lack 4 

spades so a negative double or Stayman call here is off the mark. Our hand isn’t worth 9 HCP 

unless partner can do something. If partner reopens with 2♠ we raise to 4. We avoid Lebensohl 

with the hollow diamond suit in our hand. Playing 3♠ in a poor 5-2 fit is nightmarish.. 
 

Mike Ma 3♦ I play penalty X, so I can't X. But even if you play negative X here, it is 

dangerous to do it here with singleton H. They almost for sure have 8 (opener will likely pass 
with 4), and possibly 9 (opener may take a chance and pass with 3 expecting 2 from you). I am 

too good to pass even if opener will reopen semi-automatically. I can't bid 3♥ without 4 S. So I 

suck it up and bid 3♦ (damn RHO for not leaving us alone) GF. If we end up in 3NT, not H, ♥Q 
should be of some help.  
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Bob Jones Pass The NT bid behind you should be a warning. You’ve done enough. Pass. 
 

Steve Vogel Pass On this auction, partner is marked with at least 6 points, so I know they 

do not have heart support. A reopening double needs partner to have either 4+ clubs or 4+ 
good spades. That may be the case, but it seems like too much of a risk to me, even at favorable 
vulnerability. 
 

Joe Muenks Pass Remember, partner heard your bid. You could double for takeout with 

that distribution if you had about 14 HCP, so you're a bit short. So many players do not trust 

their defense, we have a good chance at going plus, given partner's 10 pts and our fitting ♠Q if 

her suit is spades or ♣AT if it is clubs. 
 

Bob Fisk Pass 100%? Why on earth would I think that I have a second bid? Did I gain 

some more hearts? Did I gain some more points? Do I want a different suit led? Don't answer 
any of those questions—the answer to each of them is nope. 
 

Steve Moese Pass Thinking is an overbid here. They have shown a minimum of 21 HCP, so 

partner is holding at most 9 HCP and chose not to bid. Without a heart fit our hand is worth less 
and the 1NT response to our left is ominous. It is just possible that spades are (4)-333 around 
the table with East holding 4. West failed to raise diamonds, so partner has length there. I 
expect partner to be 3=2=4=4 or even 3=2=5=3. Pass looks like our only path to a positive score. 
By the way, double now would be takeout but show a much stronger hand, something like KQx 
KQxxx x KQxx. If you trust your opponents’ bidding (often a risk), then partner would have no 
more than 4 HCP. Do we really want to declare? 

 

Mike Ma Pass I play X by N over 1NT as negative, so if she has some values and both 

black suits and tolerance for my H, she would have X. She could also have bid 2♣ with C (can't 

bid 2♠ with S as that is too high). She could of course have bid 2♥ with H fit. X by me now 
would be TO, and my shape is right, but given all the possibilities eliminated by above, it is 
prudent to pass. Probably partner has a bunch of D behind opener. But if partner turns up with 
5 S, I would hate myself to P. Some hands are like that. 



07/13/24 1 2 3 4 5 6
Bob Jones 1NT 2NT 3♣ 2♥ X Pass
Steve Vogel 1NT 2♥ Pass 2♥ 3NT Pass
Joe Muenks 1NT 3♣ Pass 2♥ 3NT Pass
Bob Fisk 1NT 2NT Pass 2♥ 3NT Pass
Steve Moese 1NT 2♥ 3♣ Pass Pass Pass
Mike Ma 1NT 2♥ Pass Pass 3♦ Pass

Al Venosa 1♥ 2♥ Pass 3♣ 3♦ Pass
Anne Cobb 1♥ 1NT 1♣ 2♠ 3♦ Pass
AnnR 1NT 3♣ Pass 2♥ Pass Pass
Carl Willig 1NT 2NT Pass X X Pass
Carol Wilson 1NT 2♥ Pass 2♥ Pass Pass
Chuck 1NT 2NT Pass 2♥ X Pass
Dean Congbalay 1NT 3♣ Pass 2♥ Pass Pass
Ed 1♥ 2♥ Pass 2♥ Pass Pass
Gary Herrington 1♥ 2♥ 3♣ 2♥ X Pass
Greg 1♥ 2♥ Pass 2♥ 3NT Pass
James D 1NT 3♣ Pass 2♥ 3NT Pass
James Jacobson 1♥ 2NT Pass Pass Pass Pass
Jay Gala 1NT 2NT Pass 2♥ 2NT Pass
Jim Barrett 1♥ 2NT Pass 2♥ 3♦ Pass
jon hoak 1NT 2♥ Pass Pass Pass Pass
Kevin C. 1NT 3♣ Pass Pass 2NT Pass
Kevin H. 1NT 3♣ Pass Pass 2NT Pass
Lanny 1♥ 2NT Pass 2♥ X Pass
Lanny 1♥ 2NT Pass 2♥ X Pass
Lyn 1NT 1NT Pass 2♥ 2NT Pass
Mike Burns 1NT 2♥ Pass 2♥ 3♦ Pass
Mónica 1♥ 3♥ Pass 2♥ Pass Pass
Pam Campbell 1NT 3♣ Pass 2♥ 3♦ Pass
Reeta B 1NT 2♥ Pass 2♥ 2NT Pass
Rick Read 1♥ 2NT Pass 2♥ Pass X
Robert N. 1♥ 2NT Pass 2♥ Pass Pass
Rod 1NT 2NT Pass 2♥ X Pass
Steve Messinger 1NT 2NT Pass 2♥ X 2♣
Sue 1♥ 2NT Pass 2♥ Pass 2♣
Zigang Pan 1♥ 3NT Pass 2♥ 3♥ 2♣

1♥ 2NT Pass 2♥ 2NT 2♣
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