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Just a reminder to everyone, especially those new to bridge (or duplicate bridge). There are no right 
responses to these questions. A LOT depends the system you play, such as Standard, 2-over-1 or Precision. 
Answers also change depending on the subset of bidding conventions (and interpretations of those 
conventions) you use. Players also use different ‘styles’ of bidding. There are no absolutes in bridge. There 
are many paths to the same place. 
I believe that this quiz is best used between partners. The process being interpreting the auction so far 
and what your next call would be. Bob Jones can be challenging. A lot, well not a lot, but sometimes a “I 
wouldn’t have done it that way” moment comes up. But that is a good thing. It shows you are thinking. It 
certainly can be used as a launching point for discussions, leading to a melding of minds. 
Our panelists are quite reputable as players, teachers, and mentors. I, for one, am extremely grateful for 
the time and thought they weekly put into this exercise.  Don’t get discouraged.  



Bob Jones November 18 Quiz 

Question 1 

 

 
 

Bob Jones 1♠ Not long ago, many experts would open 1♣, hoping to rebid 1♠ and 

then 2♠. Today, they open 1♠ to shut the opponents out from the one level. Bid 1♠. 
 

Steve Vogel 1♠ When I first learned bridge quite a while ago, the standard opening bid 

for this hand was 1♣. Nowadays, the standard is to open 1♠. To be honest, both ways have 
good logic behind them, but we now live in modern times, so when in Rome, … 

 

Joe Muenks 1♠ The days of opening 1♣ with 5-5 blacks passed before I was born in the 

1960's I believe. Just open your higher of suits with equal length in them of 5+ cards. 
 

Bob Fisk 1♠ Back in olden times (before sliced bread), people used to open hands 

such as this one 1♣ to save room. Turned out they were saving room for their opponents to 
bid. Sigh. 
 

Steve Moese 1♠ The old fashioned 1♣ opening on 5 - 5 black hands has left the building. 
 

Mike Ma 1♠ Opening 1♣ on 5 clubs + 5 spades went out of fashion long ago, and 

that is not even considering the popularity of opening quasi-natural 1♣ these days even when 
playing 2/1. 
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Bob Jones 2♥ We would double, for takeout, with a better hand. With this hand, bid 

2♥. 
 

Steve Vogel Pass A double in this auction should be for takeout, as I am marked with 

shortness in diamonds. Still, it should show more high card strength, as partner could decide to 
convert it to a penalty double. Even if partner were to remove my double to another suit, and 

the opponents were to push to 3♦, partner may then choose to make a penalty double, and 
where are we then? Best to pass with this weak hand (especially vulnerable). 
 

Joe Muenks 2♥ Partner will be forced to pass 2♦ when it comes around and you'll not 

score so well. With partner's entries I'm thinking I can scramble for 7 or 8 tricks. The opponents 
surely cannot double, particularly if I bid it confidently. 
 

Bob Fisk Pass I play negative doubles at the two level, but I'm much too light at this 

vulnerability to get involved. 2♦ isn't forcing, so the opponents are likely going to play in 2♦, 
making four, for +110. If I bid, and West has the hand I think they have, we could easily go 

down two doubled in 2♥ for -500. Picture partner with Axx Ax AQxx Jxxx and opener with KQJx 
KJxx xxx AQ. 
 

Steve Moese 2♥ Yes, we would like q bid here to show both majors. However this hand is 

so weak that we can afford only one non-forcing bid at the 2 level. Guess which one. Oooops, 
no guess. A negative double should have near invitational values. Not this hand. 
 

Mike Ma X Many play system on when we overcall 1NT. But no matter how you 

play 1NT - (2♦) - X, when they bid and raise sandwiched by a strong 1NT overcall, you MUST 
play it as negative. You don't know what diamonds your partner has to overcall 1NT on, could 
be Kx, could be AQTx etc, so how can you have a penalty X? When they bid and raise, your 
partenr will know you have a weak hand, and will try to keep it low over your negative X. With 

3-3 in M, partner should bid 2♥ and not 2♠ even with better spades. 
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Bob Jones 2♠ You have a maximum, but you need four trumps to bid past two spades. 

Bid 2♠. 
 

Steve Vogel 2♠ I have 17 HCP, but the value of my club holding is suspect. Even though 

my partners and I play that a 2NT rebid shows a 3-card super-accept, I would choose to rebid 

2♠. … As an aside, I would have valued this hand at greater than 17 points, but I would still have 

opened it 1NT, because the alternative of opening in my 3-card minor (1♦) would leave me 
open to playing it there. 
 

Joe Muenks 2♠ With most partners I only super-accept with 4 cards and a maximum so 

system dictates my bid, not my judgement. In expert partnerships we bid 2NT to show the max 
and specifically three to an honor (A or K) in spades. 
 

Bob Fisk 3♣ I play doubleton super-accepts in Jacoby Transfer auctions, so my 3♣ 

bid shows 4+ good hearts, a maximum hand (most likely 17 HCP), and a doubleton club. Partner 

can bid 3♦ to re-transfer to Hearts and then (1) pass with a pile of goo, (2) bid game, or (3) 
make a control bid to explore for slam. Picture partner with xx xxxxxx Qx Axx, making four. 
 

Steve Moese 2♠ I prefer partner to invite aggressively so I avoid some super-accept on 

only 3 cards. Why? If partner intended to pass 2♠ we will be one level too high, turning a plus 
into a minus. Save super-accepts for 4-card support, a maximum, and NOT 4M-333. 
 

Mike Ma 2♠ I jump to 3♠ super-accept only with 4. With some, I do play 2NT as 3 

trump super-accept, and I will probably risk it if my ♣Q is with my diamonds. But here I will be 

chicken and bid 2♠. 
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Bob Jones Pass Pass. Don’t even think about bidding that suit at the two level. 
 

Steve Vogel Pass With some partners, I play equal-level conversion. This means that if 

partner responds clubs to a takeout double and I rebid diamonds, I am showing a hand that 
could be minimum with only diamonds and hearts. Still, with this hand and vulnerability, I 
would choose to pass in direct seat with the hope to reenter the auction later, if appropriate. 
 

Joe Muenks Pass We have some assembly of points but nothing to bid. The diamonds 

need to be better/longer vulnerable, the distribution different for a double, and a 5th heart for 
a two-suit take out. We have great defense anyway. 
 

Bob Fisk X I play Equal-Level Conversion with my partners, so I'm free to double 

the opponent's major-suit opening with diamonds and the other major. Equal-Level Conversion 

says that if partner bids 2♣ in response to my double, I can "convert" to 2♦ without showing 

extras (i.e., it isn't the same as doubling and bidding my own suit). When I bid 2♦, I'm simply 
saying "Hey, I had diamonds and the other major, most likely 5-4, and I don't so much have 

clubs. Sue me." If I had a 17+ hand with diamonds, I'd have to rebid 3♦ over 2♣. 
 

Steve Moese Pass I really don’t want a diamond lead and my hand is quacky, I pass and 

await developments. 
 

Mike Ma Pass Many play equal level conversion these days, so you can X, and convert 

2♣ reply to 2♦ without showing extra (partner knows you have 5+ diamonds and 4♥ for bidding 

like that). But the diamond suit is too weak here for me to do that. If the ♣Q is interchanged 

with a ♦x, I would risk a X. At CBC, many would overcall 2♦ with the hand shown. ☺ and ☹. 
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Bob Jones X If you want partner to pass with the hand in Q4, and we do, you must 

balance with this hand. Double. 1NT, with shortness in spades, would be a poor choice. 
 

Steve Vogel X My choices are to pass or reopen with a double or 1NT. I would not 

choose to pass, but to me, it is a somewhat close call between 1NT and double. Given the 
questionable spade stopper, I would choose to double. 
 

Joe Muenks X Partner is marked with some values. Be careful not to push the 

opponents into a better scoring partial, but I have good holdings in both minors. Here I think 

West bids 2♠ which ends the auction unless partner has 5 hearts (she'll apply the law of total 

tricks, assuming I have 4... I'm likely to balance 2♥ over 1♠ with 5). 
 

Bob Fisk X What else? If you were afraid that your hearts were too yucky to 

double, picture partner with four hearts that aren't so yucky. See? That wasn't so hard. 
 

Steve Moese X We have support for the other 3 suits and in balancing position borrow 

a K from partner. (They know to expect that). A balancing 1NT here is 11-16, and with a 
minimum in range we need a spade stop. We don’t have one. 
 

Mike Ma X You would X 1♠ in the direct seat with this hand, so why wouldn't you in 

the balancing seat? 
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Bob Jones 3♥ Any bid other than 2♥ shows a maximum with four-card support. Bid 

3♥, or something else if partner will understand it. 
 

Steve Vogel 3♣ (doubleton super-accept) or 3♥ (If not playing doubleton super-accepts) 

This hand is a clear super-accept and there are some who might choose to skip the super-
accept and take a chance on game. If partner has as little as xx Jxxxxx xx Kxx, we are heavy 
favorites to make game. I don’t like to make a bid expecting a near-perfect hand from partner, 
so I would just go with the normal super-accept. As an aside, I would have valued this hand at 
greater than 17 points, but I would still have opened it 1NT, because the alternative of opening 

in my 3-card minor (1♦) would leave me open to playing it there. 
 
 

Joe Muenks 3♥ Playing with most partners I'll do a super-accept here, the 18 playing 

points tempts bidding even more, but alas, no. With some partners I bid another suit with a 

dead doubleton, so I cannot bid 2♠ to super-accept and start control bids. 
 

Bob Fisk 3♣ See question #3. Heh. 
 

Steve Moese 3♥ Now this is a super-accept. Some might bid 3♣ to show a good 

doubleton. I say tell the opponents less about your hand. Partner will do the right thing. 
 

Mike Ma 4♥ As little as xx, Axxxx, xx, xxxx from partner and you have play for 4♥. I 

don't think she will raise 3♥ to 4 if you bid 3. You super-accept if you have a hand that partner 

won't invite if you just bid 2♥. You bid 4♥ with a hand that partner won't go if you super-
accept. If partner is bust, so be it. 
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1 2 3 4 5 6

Bob Jones 1♠ 2♥ 2♠ Pass X 3♥
Steve Vogel 1♠ Pass 2♠ Pass X 3♣

Joe Muenks 1♠ 2♥ 2♠ Pass X 3♥

Bob Fisk 1♠ Pass 3♣ X X 3♣
Steve Moese 1♠ 2♥ 2♠ Pass X 3♥

Al Venosa 1♠ 3♦ 3♠ Pass X 3♥
AnnR 1♠ Pass 2♠ Pass X 3♥
Bob K 1♠ Pass 2♠ X Pass 3♥
Carl Willig 1♠ 2♥ 3♠ 2♦ X 3♥
Chuck 1♠ 2♥ 2♠ 2♦ X 3♥
Dave 1♠ X 3♠ 2♦ X 3♥
Dean Congbalay 1♠ X 2♠ Pass X 3♥
Doug Edwards 1♠ X 2♠ Pass X 3♥
Ed 1♠ 3♦ 3♠ Pass X 4♥
Gary Busch 1♠ Pass 2♠ 2♦ Pass 3♥
Gary Herrington 1♠ X 2♠ X X 3♥
George Kent 1♠ Pass 2♠ 2♦ X 3♥
Greg 1♠ 2♥ 3♠ 2♦ X 2♥
James D 1♠ 2♥ 2♠ 2♦ X 2♥
James Jacobson 1♠ X 3♠ 2♦ X 3♥
Jan 1♠ X 3♠ Pass X 3♥
Jay Gala 1♠ 3♦ 4♠ Pass X 3♥
Jim Barrett 1♠ X 3♠ Pass X 3♥
JohnMcQ 1♠ 2♥ 2♠ Pass X 3♥
Jon Hoak 1♠ 2♥ 2♠ Pass 2♣ 3♥
Jusie Clendening Pass Pass 2♠ X X 3♥
Kevin C. 1♠ Pass 2♠ Pass X 3♥
Kevin H 1♠ 2♥ 2♠ Pass X 3♥
Lanny 1♠ Pass 3♠ Pass X 3♥
Linda 1♠ 2♥ 2♠ Pass X 3♥
Lyn 1♠ Pass 2♠ 2♦ Pass 2♥
Martha 1♠ Pass 2♠ Pass X 3♥
Mike Burns 1♣ 2♥ 3♠ 2♦ X 3♥
Mike Ma 1♠ X 2♠ Pass X 4♥
Mónica 1♠ Pass 2♠ Pass X 3♥
Nell Wickstrom 1♠ 2♥ 2♠ 2♦ Pass 3♥
Pam Campbell 1♠ 2♥ 2♠ Pass X 3♣
Pete Outcalt 1♠ Pass 2♠ 2♦ X 3♣
Phyllis 1♠ Pass 2♠ Pass Pass 2♥
Rick Read 1♠ Pass 2♠ 2♦ Pass 3♥
Rod 1♠ X 2♠ 2♦ X 3♥
Sue 1♠ X 2♠ Pass X 3♥
Vijay 1♠ Pass 2♠ 2♦ X 3♥
Zigang Pan 1♠ Pass 3♠ 2♦ X 3♥

1♠ 2♥ 2♠ Pass X 3♥
1♠ Pass N/A 2♦ 2♣ N/A

SM: Happy Thanksgiving everyone. I am thankful for many blessings, 

among which I count all my bridge friends.
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